When you select a photo on a page, you can remove the photo from the trash icon on the photo tool bar (see image below). Removing a photo from a page only removes it from that page. If it used in any other page, it will remain. Also when you delete a photo, its frame or container also remains on the page. You can either ignore it or delete the frame as well. The image below shows an empty photo frame or container on a book page after I have removed the photo. If I click on the trash can again it will delete the frame.
If you want to completely delete a photo from your project, after removing all instances of it from your book, you need to delete it from the photo well in the project. For more information about the photo well, see .
Note that deleting a photo from the well and project doesn't remove it from your photo collection on CVS. You can permanently delete a photo from your photo pages.